1. Thank you for visiting Buffy-Boards. You obviously have exceptional taste. We just want you to know that:
    1. You really should register so you can chat with us!
    2. Ten thousand people can't be wrong.
    3. Buffy-Boards loves you.
    4. See 1 through 3.
    Come on, register already!

Did creating Dawn give Joyce the tumor?

Discussion in 'Season 5' started by Topher30, Mar 25, 2016.

1. Topher30

Topher30 Townie

Hi, I'm new to boards but a long time Buffy fan. Anyway, I'm rewatching season 5 at the moment and I've always wondered, did the monks creating Dawn give Joyce the tumor? I don't ever recall her having any problems pre Dawn and as it's said many times, magic always has consequences. I mean, turning the key into human form messed with everyone's memories so maybe it damaged Joyce's brain when Dawn was created. Maybe a stupid question but it's something I've always been curious about

2. GoSpuffy

GoSpuffy Vampire Lover, I mean Slayer

Black Thorn
    I don't think so. I think Joyce's death was supposed to represent the fragility of life and Buffy's lack of control of real life. In the storyline I think they wanted Buffy to grow up and losing a mother who took care of her and gaining a sibling who needed who care pushed her into adulthood. If Joyce had been around to comfort Buffy in season 6 instead of Dawn being around to place more demands on her Buffy may not have been as depressed.

3. Lyri

Lyri Buckle Up Tight

Sineya
    No.

This is something that I will never believe, because it was never mentioned on the show. I think if this was supposed to be the reason Joyce was sick, it would have been a huge deal and a huge storyline. It's something that would have created a huge conflict for Buffy - having to protect the reason her mother is dead. That would have been a massive storyline.

But it wasn't even mentioned on the show, even as a passing thought.