• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Thank you for visiting Buffy-Boards. You obviously have exceptional taste. We just want you to know that:
    1. You really should register so you can chat with us!
    2. Twelve thousand people can't be wrong.
    3. Buffy-Boards loves you.
    4. See 1 through 3.
    Come on, register already!

Wesley and Cordelia (BtVS s3)

Mrs Gordo

(She's not even a vampire.) No, I'm an attorney.
Black Thorn
The podcast Buffering has been discussing how disturbed they are about the Wesley and Cordelia pairing on the show. Essentially, the issue they take is that Wesley is not just older but is seen as "in a position of power" and therefore it's not just their age that is the problem but it is akin to Cordelia dating someone who has some measure of authority over her.

I have to say - I never saw it this way. Especially because Wesley couldn't be less in control nor do I see him in any type of real "position of power." He may be trying to take the position of power over Buffy, but he isn't a staff member at that school, he isn't Cordelia's watcher, and even as Buffy's watcher it's pretty evident he is rather impotent. Wesley always struck me is the new Watcher's Council graduate and this was his first gig. He is obviously green not just in the role he has been given but emotionally stunted. Between the two, Cordelia is clearly in the position of power as she has and usually is always in control of what she wants. Plus she is 18 years old and a consenting adult who is about to graduate high school.

What did you all think? Were you ever weirded out by this pairing for reasons of age or "position of power" issues? Did you find it similar to that of a student/teacher relationship?